About the SSBC Executive Committee

Mary Lynne Pidcock - President

A career spanning over 30 years in the fields of education, property and tourism management has prepared Mary Lynne for her current work as a company director and executive mentor.

Mary Lynne is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has extensive board and committee experience. She has post graduate qualifications in sustainable development,  

education, financial planning, business and tourism management.

Mary Lynne became President of the Redfern Waterloo Chamber of Commerce in 2009 and has been responsible for leading a dynamic Chamber that has reviewed its governance, increased membership, changed its name, expanded its boundaries and improved communications.

Our President’s vision for the Business Chamber is:

To encourage membership of the Chamber and build its capacity so that it is recognised as the pre-eminent business forum in the area. By giving members the opportunity to connect, and to exchange and develop views, perspectives and ideas, the Chamber will make a vital contribution to the growth of successful and sustainable businesses and thus contribute to the economic and social development of our community.

Karen Levin - Treasurer

Karen is a highly motivated and creative professional with proven presentation and negotiation skills perfected over 30 years of experience in management, marketing and strategic development. Karen loves challenges and is constantly being inventive and inspired to raise benchmarks in her position as General Manager of Souths Leagues Club or as Treasurer of the Business Chamber.

Karen has a cosmopolitan approach to business due to her extensive knowledge of business. With a legal background and a creative mind, her work has taken her around the world in business working in such industries as accounting, sports development, mentoring, non-profit and not-for-profit organisations and product development, just to name a few. Her multi-skilling and creative flair provide the Business Chamber with unique input and perspective.


Meet Committee Members

Paul Andersen

Paul is an accomplished executive with a demonstrated track record of driving outcomes for the community infrastructure, urban renewal, land development and engineering sectors.

Pauls career included senior roles in local and state government as well as the private sector. Whilst with Landcom, the NSW State Government's land developer, he was the Project Director for the $2billion Green Square Town Centre project which is now under development. Paul has been a keen proponent of the move to extend the Chamber's reach to include those traditional South Sydney suburbs like Zetland and Alexandria which are undertaking significant urban renewal

He is currently with The Sydney Harbour Foreshore Authority as the Executive Director Place Management responsible for The Rocks & Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. Prior to this Paul was with Aurecon - a global consultancy firm.


David Hannan

David Hannan is the Managing Director of F Hannan Properties Pty Ltd. Prior to this, David was the Built to Plan Equipment Accountant and Personal Computer Accountant at IBM.

David’s career includes over 20 years of experience in the business sector where he also worked in a variety of apprenticeship roles from Payroll Office to Group Administration Officer at the family business at the then Hannan Group.

David is a proud father of four and uses the restoration of old timber boats as a therapeutic reminder that we’re only here for a short time but our assets are here for longer.

Jeremy Martin

Jeremy Martin grew up in Sydney attending Waverley College and later when on to complete a Bachelor of Land Economics at the university of technology Sydney. Having opened his own business in 2001 MARTIN has grown to become the largest residential agency in the green square area and the holder of the majority of local sales and leasing awards.


2011 – finalist business of the year city of Sydney business awards

2012 – winner business of the year city of Sydney business awards


2012 – winner energy Australia sustainability award

2013 – winner business leader award

2013 – winner excellence in sustainability award

2013 – finalist in business ethics


Nick Turner

Nicholas is the Principal and founder of Turner. Within the practice, he leads the design of innovative residential, public, workplace, industrial and urban design projects that are informed by environmentally responsive design principles.

Recent experience on architectural urban projects includes locations as diverse as China, Jakarta, Saigon, Beirut as well as locally in South Sydney, Leichhardt, Rhodes, Sydney Olympic Park, Rockdale, Ryde, the City of Sydney, Botany and Tweed Heads.

Nicholas was the project director for the Emirates Wolgan Valley Resort and Spa, the world’s first carbon neutral hotel and most recently, as part of a small delegation to Iraq, he is providing advice and design propositions to deal with the Iraqi housing crisis including housing models with a sustainability and education focus, as well as providing policy advice to government ministers.

Nicholas is an accomplished speaker and presenter of ideas, providing clarity to the process of designing and delivering buildings, helping to steer a definitive course through the often-complex requirements of approvals and construction.

Aaran Johnson

Aaran has been a local resident of the Redfern-Waterloo community since March 2010 and is a proud advocate of the South Sydney area.

He is the Partner in charge of Marsdens Law Group’s Sydney Office and has been with the Commercial Litigation Department of  Marsdens Law Group since 2007.

Aaran is a Law Society of NSW Accredited Specialist in Commercial Litigat

ion and holds a Masters of Law Degree majoring in Commercial Litigation.

He brings his wealth of experience with legal issues in a range of commercial contexts to the Chamber in order to assist its members, and the Chamber, in achieving its objectives.